Briefly Stated November 2019


SHS performs the musical ‘1776’

The tradition for equal casting roles for males and females is skewed this year with a male heavy cast list.

“I never thought I would be able to do the musical 1776” musical director Betsy Dutton said. 

With a total of 26 cast members, there are a total of only three female parts, played by seniors Debi Schmidt, Jasmine Bates, and Sarah Walker. 

The remaining females play male congress members with senior Brett Riffel playing John Hancock. The musical also features Jacob Pieplow as Benjamin Franklin. “The male sound is really nice thanks to Clark Comley.” Dutton added

“1776” features the events leading up to the signing of the Declaration of Independence. 

The musical cast hopes the elements of humor will entertain the audience during the show. 

 “It’s funny, surprisingly. Because you hear the topic and think, ‘this won’t be very good,’ but it’s a funny show and our Forefathers were real characters,” Dutton said. “I think the audience will laugh a lot.”


Kansas Gubernatorial Elections

On Nov. 6, 2018, the Kansas gubernatorial election will take place for election of Governor of Kansas, and U.S Representatives to the House. 

Candidates for Governor include: Republican Kris Kobach, Democrat Laura Kelly, and Independent candidates Rick Kloos and Greg Orman.

As of the Republican and Democratic Primary held on July 24-26, Kobach won with 40.6% vote, Kelley won with 51.5%, and Orman trailed in the single digits, according to the Kansas City Star newspaper. 

Voters will also be voting on U.S. Representatives for the House for the second and third districts. In the second district current representative Lynn Jenkins, will be retiring from office and replaced by Republican Steve Watkins or Democrat Paul Davis. In the third district, current Republican representative Kevin Yoder, will be re-running for his position against Democratic candidate Sharice Davids. 

 General public voting polls open on Nov. 6.  with early voting opening on Oct. 17- Nov. 5. Polls will be open  7a.m.-7p.m. 


Kavanaugh Sworn into Supreme Court

Despite all of his sexual allegations against Dr. Christine Blasey Ford, Brett Kavanaugh was sworn in as a Supreme Court Justice, Oct. 8, 2018. 

After a close vote from the senate —one of the slimmest margins in American History—a vote of 50-48 was counted Saturday Oct. 6. The votes almost entirely from senators respective sides, except Senator Joe Machin from West Virginia.

Kavanaugh also won a vote from Senator Susan Collins from Main, who has been in undecided for months. She announced her vote for Kavanaugh on the Senate floor before the vote was cast.

“It is when passions are most inflamed that fairness is most in jeopardy,” Collins said. “I will vote to confirm Judge Kavanaugh.”

Kavanaugh was sworn in by Chief Justice John Roberts Jr. and retired Justice Anthony Kennedy, who Kavanaugh will be replacing.

Kavanaugh started hearing cases Oct.  9. One of his first cases will be involving convicted felons with firearm possession, and sentence time if convicted of three felonies already.